Wrong dimensions on an assembled A4 grid

I designed a trouser pattern and printed it on a4 sheets. Then I assembled the grid and checked all the dimensions and found some errors, most significant one is the trouser length which is nearly 2 cm shorter. I checked my drawing for errors, but it seems fine. I found errors in both directions.

I used valentina 4.5 on Linux.

I don’t checked my printer, but I don’t think it comes from it.

I can provide the val file and I am a computer scientist.

Hi, can you try to check with the last test build?

As i understand you printed by option Print tiled? If yes can you also try Save as tiled PDF and print the pdf file? I think i see a bug.

I printed from the pdf so as to only print page with content.

I will recompile valentina.

I got this warning when I run the layout : Fields go beyond printing Apply settings anyway?

This doesn’t explain why your image has wrong size.

Did you try test build?

yes it seems still wrong, il will check properly this evening.

You have this warning probably because set A4 as base for a layout. Now you try to print A4 on A4 printer. It can’t do that because reserve some space for printer fields. And as assume because of bug when you print tiled document from Valentina tiled image will not be created.

I did a trousers pattern 2 days ago with the latest version of valentina from the develop branch, using ubuntu 16.04. I also printed it with a tiled PDF and the printed pattern had the right dimensions.

When you printed the document, did you check the settings of your printer? Sometimes the default “scale” value for printing a document is something less than a 100% and it can lead to this kind of errors.

1 Like

Did you print through Valentina or created a pdf file?

void MainWindowsNoGUI::PrintTiled()
{
    isTiled = false; // <- looks like a bug, should be true
    LayoutPrint();
}

I created the PDF file, saved it then later opened it with my PDF-File Reader and printed it.