Created SeamlyMe in cm, attached to 2D, says inches

Hi Forum Friends! I am a Newbie to Seamly, but I am a patternmaker. I’m so excited, learning by following a panty tutorial just to learn how this works. I set up SeamlyME in centimeters. When I did the steps to attach to Seamly 2D to start, I see it says inches. How do I make it stay in centimeters? Did it do so because I’m on a Mac and in USA? I can convert all the numbers to inches to work but I would love to know how to correct this. Just learning happily and so glad helpful people are here!

Lisa

1 Like

When you create a “New” pattern you are asked for the units… which defaults to those set in the Seamly2D preferences. If you set the units to cm in the prefs, when you start a new pattern “cm” will be the default.

1 Like

Hi Douglas!

Thank you for responding. I am attaching pics of what I mean. I did choose cm in Measurement Table ME. Saved, attached into Seamly 2D and it reads inches. Went into Seamly Preferences at top of my MAC and don’t see any unit options.

If there is no other recourse, I will changes units to inches which I work in normally, remove the measurements from my 2D, and replace it. I’m thinking now, haha! Will have to learn to do that but believe I saw that somewhere.

Thanks if you have any more info. It is all appreciated! pic 1, cm pic 2 pic 3

2 Likes

Normally, when you create a new pattern, you get the option to choose Centimeters or Inches. Luckily, regardless if you created the measurement file in centimeters, it will convert it to inches in the pattern file in Seamly2D. As you can see with @cd, in SeamlyMe, you entered 27cm, while in Seamly2D, it’s telling you that it’s 10.6299 inches, which is 27cm divided by 2.54. :slight_smile:

1 Like