You write it, I'll edit it

I have NO CLUE how to use Valentina yet, but a lot of graphics and sewing experience. I just want to make doll patterns for Etsy.

I am an experienced technical writer and editor and accustomed to working with developers whose first language is not English, and documenting software I don’t know how to use yet.

I’m also good at editing everyday English into “global English” so it is easier to translate or for readers with limited English skills to understand. Here’s a link to the sort of English I produce:

A look at the forum indicates we probably could start filling up a spreadsheet (unless there is one, in which case it needs to be linked from the user manual and the forum) for the definition of terms, and translating the names of things and the actions of the software so my “gathers” become “las fronces” instead of “les réunions”. It’s the input for things like button labels and list members so text strings don’t get hard-coded and can be re-used.

If there is a location where the text strings can be proofread and fixed, please let me know. I know how to use revision control, as long as you keep the text strings in a consistent place.

If you are using translation software, I can download it and use it. (I have used Trados)

2 Likes

documentation exists on a wiki and in (at least) 2 downloadable pdf files. It is a work in progress. Try looking here:

https://wiki.seamly.net/wiki/Main_Page

https://wiki.seamly.net/wiki/UserManual:Seamly2D_QuickStart

https://wiki.seamly.net/wiki/UserManual:SeamlyMe_Quick_Start_Guide

I am working on a complete set of tutorials for an arbitrary pattern system (McCunn) and please see the sleeve block for the first piece I have started to document Block Pattern tutorials - Seamly2D