Which Pattern System to use

Hello everyone, I am new to Seamly2d and would appreciate your help with next steps. I have completed input of my measurements into Seamlyme. Do I now need to choose a specific Pattern Making System for instructions to use with Seamly2D? What Pattern Making system is best? thank you for your help.

2 Likes

Hello and welcome to the Seamly2D forum, @LizQ

When I found Seamly in 2017, I suddenly discovered that I also need to learn HOW to create a pattern. I settled on Winifred Aldrich’s books because she gives something of almost everything you would like to make in very easy, step-by-step instructions that are easily translated into Seamly2D.

Later that year, I put together a PDF tutorial for an easy fitting blouse pattern that you can find in this chat: New member, any spanish speakers? - #9 by Grace

I have since worked my way through various books and have figured out a lot of other things to do with pattern making, but I often go back to Aldrich’s books, so I think, for personal use, this is a very good place to start. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

The Pattern Making System is an unfinished feature of the applications. My understanding is the idea was that you would select a system and it would be used as a template for a measurement file that would contain all the measurements for that system. So for now it makes no difference which system is chosen in the Prefs as it doesn’t do anything.

That being said, if you’re drafting a pattern based on a certain system - such as Mueller - then you will at minimum want to create a measurement file based on the measurements for that system.

For myself, I use a measurement file that contains measurements that will cover many of the different systems, as well as some variables that make it easier coding the formulas.

2 Likes

Short answer, no. You don’t need to choose a pattern making system. As @Douglas said, it doesn’t currently have any effect on the use of the programs.