When will a 3d export like Wavefront be available?

Hello everyone. I am a contributing artist for the Makehuman Project, and we are constantly looking for improved solutions for clothing design. We have been hoping that Valentina would be able to supply the 3d export (most likely Wavefront) for use in clothing the human figure, but no one has heard much news for a while.

Right now, the best application I’ve seen is Marvelous Designer, but for students and beginners it is way too expensive. Myself, I would only use it for a month at a time, at the end of a design project. Also, its triangles-to-quads conversion is idiosyncratic, to say the least.

Any word on a 3d export from Valentina?

You should ask @slpencer about plans to support 3D. Because i as core developer i don’t do anithing for this.

We could use someone to develop this export function. Do you know someone in MakeHuman project who is interested? Here’s the issue in our repo: https://bitbucket.org/valentinateam/valentina/issues/227/new-feature-3d-patterns

I’m only a contributing artist, but I’m pretty sure this is the one block of code that will make the Valentina project the ‘tool of choice’ for the next generation of 3d animators. What I had in mind was a interim: an SVG export that can be mapped to a 3d model using a program like 3DCoat.

This task is very interesting for me too. But unfortunatelly i complitelly don’t have time for this.

I myself thought about triangulating a detail shape and export to .obj. Here is my expiriment.

Wonderful! The quadrilateral version of this is the correct solution. That’s all the Valentina team would need to do; a program specialized for retopology like 3DCoat can handle the rest.

Okay. I have updated description for the issue. But unfortunately i still don’t have time for this issue. It will require at least month for experimenting and testing.

But this should be good task for outsource.

:zipper_mouth:

3 Likes

Example of exported mesh mesh.obj (72.3 KB)