Walking Patterns

curves
lines

Hello I am new to Valentina and I’m still getting my footing. I am trying to walk the side seam of my front and back skirt. Is there a function in the program that allows me to do that?

Do you mean you want to know the length of both seams so you can compare then?

Can you post a screen shot of your patterns in Draw mode? I can give you suggestions how to compare the lengths.

Hello, I too am curious how to compare lengths. Example, I want to make sure the inseams on a pair of pants are the same for the front and back panel, so that they will match when joining the inseams. I do not see a way to view measurement/length data the for a particular part of a pattern. It would be nice to be able to select a group of points and splines and see what their total length together would be.

Hint: Use the tools to create a point along a line or curve. Plus use the Bezier Curve Tool with control handles for important curves, this enables precise control for copying/scaling/manipulating/etc. Also, it helps to know the constraints for the pattern

Example: For jeans/pants, the front inseam curve from crotch to knee is a bit shorter than the back inseam curve from crotch to knee, and the extra fullness is sewn in as ease so the pants fit properly around the thigh. The tighter the fit at the knee, the larger the difference between the front & back inseam curves. Similarly, there is ease in the outseam from hip line to knee, which is greater when the knee is close-fitting (or the hips are large), and non-existent for stove-pipe trousers. This ease is important for good fit, and is usually ‘built-in’ to the formulas for jeans, pants, trousers. (if your jeans are made from stretchy denim then you won’t have this ease.) But there are three sections of the pants inseams & outseams where the lengths must match between front & back.

1. From knee to hem inseam
  2. From knee to hem outseam
  3. From waist to hip outseam

To check these lengths: