Usability Testing?

Hey there - I just discovered Seamly and am really excited to use it. I’m a software developer and sewist, so this is an awesome intersection between these two worlds that I really enjoy. I hope to contribute to the project in the near future after I understand it a bit more.

As I was exploring the tool, I noticed minor usability issues, then I watched some videos of another sewist using Seamly (see below) and noticed other usability issues. It made me wonder, does Seamly do usability testing for its GUI and/or is interested in it? I’m not sure what the norm is for open source software in terms of this practice - it is a little time intensive, but in my limited experience, it’s been worth it.

Seamly2D Walkthrough - An introduction to Seamly2D & Resources - YouTube (usability issues mostly in video #6 with the printing UI).

4 Likes

The videos are likely outdated as I have been in process of overhauling the UI from the previous Valentina.

My suggestion would be to read through some of the issues or suggestions on the forums here or look at the issues on the Github repo (Issues · FashionFreedom/Seamly2D · GitHub) as you are sure to find many issues with the UI have already been identified and / or discussed.

Welcome, and please feel free to join in the discussions. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Welcome @Adyst!

I’m afraid I don’t have anything to add to what Douglas said, besides that if I’d have beaten him to welcoming you, I’d have recommended him as the most likely to give you intelligent information, (since Susan is trying not to helicopter us.)

& If you actually have a system for UI testing, I think that would be a wonderful addition.

:unicorn:

2 Likes

Oh yes, of course, I didn’t think about the age of the application in that video and the speed of updates. That’s great to hear.

@Pneumarian @Douglas thank you both for the welcome.