"Temporal" dependency among objects. By design?

treestructure

I’m new to Valentina (and to pattern-making too) and I have come, more than I would like, to the barrier of needing a line measurement in one part of a pattern to use in another part that I created previously and not being able to use it.

Browsing through this forum, I understand that the developers know of this limitation, but nowhere I find the explanation to why this is so. It makes me wonder if such ability is really undesirable or this happens only because of the way the software was implemented.

So, this post is really the way I found to ask the developers about the reasons why they implemented this strict constraint, and I do this here because I don’t know if the issues page is the right place. Moreover, I didn’t find this answer anywhere (maybe because I don’t know how to search for it).

To summarize, I would like to know the arguments you used to justify the refusal to refer to an object created “in the future”.

I forgot to add that I have a CS degree, so you can get as technical as you’d need. I’m even planning on helping to develop when I get the time.

I am not one of the developers, but I have become reasonably familiar with valentina in the last few months. I worked in computer science for many years and was well educated in computer science concepts. I also, had been making patterns and sewing for many years, and using intuition, modifying existing paper patterns, and tracing clothes to reverse engineer patterns. I am only recently studying patternmaking using several books and methods.

I would suggest that you pick a patternmaking system and learn it and make at least a few paper patterns. Once you have done this it should be more clear to you why it makes sense to use Valentina the way it is.