Studio workflow

Hi guys, I am wondering if some of you might be willing to share your workflow/creative process with Seamly 2d.

I am an artist/painter who fell in love with garment design and sewing. I am working toward selling my own digital patterns online.

I have been sewing and designing my own clothes for the last few years, self teaching pattern-making from books and honestly learning mostly through trial and error.

I started with draping on a dress form, which made the most immediate sense creatively, because it’s visual and tactile. I think I still have the most fun and can execute a design most accurately when I start here after illustration.

I picked up flat pattern-making next, and drafted blocks and started to execute designs that way. I can still put the working pattern paper onto the dress form or on myself to get a sense of what I am doing, and make changes and corrections in the moment.

Now enter Seamly 2d. To be honest, I feel way out of my comfort zone working in a software. I am used to sitting in a giant mess and having paper/rulers/tape everywhere when I am working out a design.

For my first project, I illustrated my design, and then drafted my pattern in Seamly. It took a really long time because I am new to the software. I made a mock up, and adjusted the print out pattern in the studio on the fly because it’s just so much faster.

The design illustration:

The garment:

I am onto my next project, and I am reflecting on my workflow. I think I need to incorporate draping and/or a physical working pattern while I draft in Seamly to help me see in real life what I am doing on a computer.

Does anyone else work this way?? What does your workflow look like? I would love to hear some ideas and examples so help streamline my own workflow! Thank you!!

3 Likes

Hello @nina_theatticlier