SeamlyMe: Measurement variables that can be used in a formula

Hi everyone,

I am a complete newbie here on the forum, and I have only just begun using Seamly2D and SeamlyMe (although I have known about the Valentina project for quite a while), so please bear with me if the answer to my question should be obvious. After trying to understand the programs and the whole workflow, I was under the impression that I could choose whether I wanted to assign either constants or formulas to the values of the measurements in SeamlyMe. The constants work as expected, but I was surprised when I could not have something like (height_waist_side - height_hip) as a formula. The formula wizard does not show height_waist_side or height_hip as available either. My intention was to have a measurements file that I use as a template for every new person, where I use approximations calculated by formulas for some measurements, and I replace the formula by the actually measured value if and only if I have it for a particular person. This way I could use the measurement in my pattern pieces whether it has been measured or ‘only’ calculated. So why is there a limitation on which measurements I can use in a formula?

I am using SeamlyMe 0.6.0.1 built 2018-01-13 at 13:08:54.

Thank you, Elke

Hi Elke,

You can make a measurement table for every different person, load this table and use those measurements in formulas. It will not be visible if it is not loaded.

load individual

If you cannot find the measurement you need in the ‘known measurement’ of SeamlyMe, you can always make custom measurements. In formulas these will automatically have an @ symbol at the front.

2 Likes

Hi Elke,