Saving to Google Drive in Ubuntu

Hello lovely people, yet another newbie here! I’m currently running Seamly2d 0.6.0.1 in Ubuntu 18.04.3. I assume that I have the version for ubuntu18.04.1 installed. By some arcane means beyond my comprehension I also managed to (usably) install Seamly2d on my Chromebook with Linux enabled. I want to be able to save to a shared folder of some sort so that I can work on a project from either computer without juggling files.

On the Chromebook I was able to share the Google drive to the Linux side, & seamlessly save to it from Seamly. From my Ubuntu machine I’ve been unable to do so, in spite of the fact that I can from any other program that I’ve tried it with. So I feel like Seamly must be lacking the widget that allows the file interface GUI to interact with the Google drive. I was able to find how to navigate to the drive folder, but all the sub-folders showed names that looked like randomly generated passwords.

Or is there already something to give that kind of functionality which I’ve missed?

1 Like

I do not think you have missed anything. There is nothing inherent in the seamly software that would support that. Seamly is implemented on top of the Qt platform, which allows it to (mostly) be compatible across linux, windows, and Mac.

That said, I am fairly sure there is some way to do a series of operations from the command prompt, and probably even put them into a script that could be automagically run when you boot your system.

I think the approach would be to mount the google drive into the linux filesystem which should give it a device name. I am speculating based on the way I believe google drive works and do not know off the top of my head how to do this.