Refactor to object oreinted standard?

Hey there developers, I’m new to QT, and obviously new to this program as a developer. I’m at a conundrum as to which direction to go with this code. I’d like to work on it, but feel it needs refactored. Not trying to step on anyone’s toes… appreciate everyone’s hard work.

I’ve been reviewing the code for a week now. My original intent was to add 3 point curve functionality. Thinking add a file in the folder “curves” with the appropriate curve object, Add a line or two in the UI to add the 3 point curve button, etc… a week at most of an evening.

Maybe I’m looking at things wrong, but it confusing to me.

I’m from an object oriented programming background and was wondering what others thought. I’m not familiar with QT, but it seems that when you get past the UI, the bulk of the program is in two files. Is this because of limitations in QT, or is this a sign of an older program in c++ when it wasn’t truly OO?

What do others working on the code think?

2 Likes

You’re not alone in your assessment of the code base.
It definitely needs to be refactored.

1 Like

Thanks for the response… I may take it on…experimenting with QT so that I am familiar with the system setup. What is the latest version of QT that would be reasonable to move up to? I’d like to work in the latest version, but would not want to leave everyone in the dust.

1 Like

Are you coming from a C background?

C++ is usually considered a “multi-paradigm” language. That is, you can use it for object-oriented, procedural, and even functional programming.