Multiple boot system. deciding whether to make a separate boot environment

qt
compile

I have the ability to create multiple boot environments in my system. Currently I have one KUBUNTU (KDE Plasma 16.10+ close to bleeding edge) installation where I spend most of my time. I have a windows 10 that I use for programs only available on windows. I have a second KUBUNTU 16.10 right from the distribution upgrade. I have WINE installed to emulate windows on my main KUbuntu system.

After spending some time reading code and documentation to decide how to best help make a contribution to testing, I decided I need to check out a copy (using the bitbucket valentina feature branch) and teach myself how to build the valentina program so that I will not have to ask stupid questions.

I was an expert coder but I am the first to admit that I have only lurked in open source projects and never coded there. Also the last time I wrote or compiled code it was prior to 2005. but I digress.

The reason for this post is that I got as far as needing to execute

hg pull && hg update feature

and I realized I needed to install the mercurial package. Watching this process made me stop to think whether or not I should create a “clean” bootable environment to tinker and build and keep any test suite development effort separate. @slpencer do you have an opinion?

Instead of multiple boot - try virtual machine - eg Vmware player or Virtual Box. On a linux box you could try Docker

Thanks for the suggestion @bamba. I actually already use a virtual environment (WINE) to run windows under linux. In addition, I already have multiple boot set up and working for those times when I can’t avoid running Windows 10. I have 3 physical hard drives and play with my partitions for fun. I have mirroring and backup and schemes so that I will not lose important data. I was once an operating systems programmer and I love to tinker.