Merge or combine .val files

new to seamly 2d.

(1) I’m still learning. Trying to understand the functional difference between “add new draft block” and “add new pattern”…can someone help?

(2) I created two separate .val files for my front and back bodice pieces (I guess I should have just created them in the same file at the start?). Now I want to combine those two .val files into one file. they have different point naming scheme. Is this possible or not?

2 Likes

Sure.

Add new pattern creates a new project or (.val) pattern file. The pattern file contains the instructions to create all the tools.

Part of the pattern file is one or more draft blocks - depending on your drafting style or system used. Some systems will for example draft the front and back of a jacket as one, where others draft them separately. The former can be done with 1 draft block, while the latter would take 2.

Which brings us to Add new draft block. Lets say with your first draft block you drafted the back, and now you need another block to draft thd front - use Add new draft block. You can then use the drop down box in the Draft Block toolbar to switch between blocks. Inactive blocks will appear greyed out on the screen. You can see them, but not work with them. I should note that it’s also common for users to draft everything in one block, which allows access to variables within the block, where this may not be the case if multiple blocks are used. This could pertain if for ex you where drafting a bodice with raglan sleeves that requires manipulating parts of the block.

I should also note that draft blocks are not pattern pieces… they’re more like slopers which are used to create pattern pieces. Also from 1 draft block you can create an unlimited number of pattern pieces. For example you could draft a bodice front with a front facing… sharing some common seams. Then using the Add piece tool, you can create a front bodice piece and a front facing.