Install Issues on Linux

Hi folks,

Having an issue installing on Linux. I get the following error:

:~$ sudo aptitude install seamly2d The following NEW packages will be installed: seamly2d{b} 0 packages upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded. Need to get 3,477 kB of archives. After unpacking 73.3 MB will be used. The following packages have unmet dependencies: seamly2d : Depends: xpdf which is a virtual package and is not provided by any available package

valentina : Conflicts: seamly2d but 0.6.0.1ubuntu1-0~202004231901~ubuntu20.04.1 is to be installed The following actions will resolve these dependencies:

Keep the following packages at their current version:
  1. seamly2d [Not Installed]                           

Accept this solution? [Y/n/q/?]

It looks like there is an issue with xpdf, I’ve tried installing this separately but no luck, I’m new to linux, and running it on an old laptop because of limited processing power.

I’ve managed to install Valentina as a temporary fix, but I want Seamly going forwards.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

3 Likes

Welcome to the Forum! Have you tried the AppImage linked on the front page? If it works, that’s the easiest solution. The whole thing is self-contained. You might have to run chmod +x Seamly2D.AppImage to be able to run it, but I think that’s been fixed in recent releases.

Here’s the releases listing: Releases · GitHub

If that doesn’t help, just say the word, we’re happy to help get it figured out!

:unicorn:

1 Like

Great, the appimage runs, thank you. No need for the chmod. I can just double click it from my file explorer.

What is the difference between Valentina and Seamly? Seamly seems to have more design tools up front and centre.

I am a long time Solidworks (Engineering CAD software) user, but totally new to sewing and pattern design.