How to draw a basic t-shirt?

Hello, i am a beginner and i have searched a video how to draw a basic t-shirt. I undestand how to use and draw my measerments, but i dont understand how to make armholes and sleeve (what meserments and tools to use). I will be grateful for any tips and links :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Hi, here I shared a kiddies T-shirt pattern with measurements file: Crest a Layout - #6 by Grace. And here, @slspencer shared her easy T-shirt pattern: Curves with same length - #17 by slspencer.

Have a look at them and see if you can figure something out from them. A T-shirt can be made from the basic bodice and sleeve pattern in all the books teaching pattern making. And to create the armhole and a sleeve to fit into that armhole is a bit complicated to just explain like this.

Here is a site that has videos that you can follow: http://www.appletreesewing.com/tshirt/

And this one gives written instructions: http://madmim.com/my-basic-fitted-t-shirt-pattern-made-to-fit-you/

And hereā€™s one with a raglan sleeve: how to pattern draft and sew a raglan tee in any size

I hope these help you. Please donā€™t hesitate to ask if you have any problems further :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Thank you Grace, it was very helpful!

Now i struggle in Seamly how to draw a ā€œfrench curveā€ to the sleeve. I have read the ebook, but donĀ“t understand completle what tools to use. ( also english isnĀ“t my first language :slight_smile: )

Is there a tool that i can mark the first point (B) and then enter the lenght (say 10cm) and what line it shoud cross (B4)? I will try to add a picture in here.

1 Like

I found that tool (point at intersection of arc and line) and manage to do that line B to B5.

I have checked twice my measurerments, but still dont understand why the sleeve drawing is wrong. B5 should be the farest point from the B to B2 line?

Adding picture from my drawing.

2 Likes