Hi, I am Peter

Hi, Seamly2D community. I am a new user trying to fight myself into the software. I am Peter, a 66-year old amateur sewist living in Antwerp, Belgium. I am a scientist (marine ecology) working at Delft University of Technology and the institute Deltares in Delft, The Netherlands. Sewing is my way of relaxing in the evening. I came to Seamly2D because I am desperate at the lack of good commercial patterns for menswear, especially the tailored garments such as jackets and suits. I hope to develop enough skills to once draft my own patterns and make something just outside of the Burda catalogue. It does not seem easy, but since I started up the program last week I just completed my first block, based on Aldrich. I still have to make a ‘piece’ out of it, etc., and after all that I will not have anything original, but it will come. Hope to have a good time pattern drafting!

4 Likes

Welcome Peter.

You’re in the right place. :slight_smile:

When you get stuck, and I’m sure you will - as we all have - please feel free to ask for help. Someone here will be glad to help.

2 Likes

Thanks, Douglas. In fact, I have already posted my first question. But I have to say, until now my experience was quite good! A few years ago I had a go at Valentina, but I gave up because the software was extremely unstable. Nothing of that until now - a big improvement!

2 Likes

Welcome Peter, and have a lot of fun construction your own fashion :smiley:

2 Likes

Willkommen Peter,

deine gestellte Frage habe ich gerade gelesen und sie wurde ja auch schon beantwortet. Ich wünsche dir viel Spaß beim Ausprobieren, es ist gerade am Anfang eine Herausforderung, die es sich aber lohnt anzunehmen. Es gibt keine Frage, die es nicht wert ist gestellt zu werden und das schöne ist, man bekommt hier immer geholfen.

Viel Spaß beim Ankommen

2 Likes

Thanks, @Moniqua und Danke schon, @Scholli. Eine Herausforderung, bestimmt, aber es macht Spass ! Peter

2 Likes