Hello from Czech Republic + Copy&Paste question

Hello folks,

My name is Helena, I live in Czech Republic and I am new to Seamly2D as well as pattern drafting :slight_smile:

I didn’t have much trouble creating my first skirt block; I am starting to have some troubles now, though. Based on a pattern drafting course I’ve recently attended, I’ve drawn both front and back of my skirt to the same draft block. Now I would like to make some design adjustments to the skirt, so I’ve saved the original pattern as a new one and I am proceeding with the new file. For example, I would like to adjust the front part of the skirt by adding side pockets, so I would like to separate the back and front parts to different draft blocks. I would think copying the back part and pasting to the new draft block should work, but I can’t find a way to do that. Is there a way how to do that, please? Or is there another way that would allow me to proceed with my intentions? :slight_smile: I include screenshot for better imagination.

Thanks a lot and looking forward to be part of this community and learning new things!

3 Likes

In the open source pattern file, select the block containing the back of the skirt. Right-click on the block and choose “Copy” or use Ctrl+C to copy the block to the clipboard. Create a new rough block where you want to place the back of the skirt. To do this, right-click on an empty area in the editor window and select “Paste” or use the Ctrl+V shortcut. You have now copied the back part into a new draft block. You now have separate draft blocks for the front and back of the skirt. You can edit them independently of each other.

2 Likes