Grading up sizes with inaccurate results

increments
measurements
standardmeasurements
grading
curves

Hello, newbie here again! I hope you’re all well. Now I’ve drafted my bodice and sleeve from Aldrich, I wanted to see how well my pattern would work as I stepped up the measurement chart. Unfortunately it ends up pretty bad! Some of my formulas and curves using the Aldrich book mustn’t be able to be scaled up correctly, and I was wondering if this is something I should be using the Increments feature for.

I don’t really understand how Increments work (but I am getting through watching stinde’s great video which demonstrates what they can do a bit). Are there any other resources to explain Increments?

Here’s an animation of the chaos just for fun!

I just figured out my armscye increment up the sizes was incorrect, so that solves one problem at least!

Now that I’ve solved that significant issue, my next issue is regarding the armscye curve. As I scale up the sizes, the curve does not maintain integrity.

Size 22, base size:

Size 30 I would like the right side of the curve to stay as close as possible to A22-A38.

I’d draw a curve from A11 to A16, then from A16 to A32, then from A32 to A40 and the last one from A40 to A29. That way, when sizing up & down, the curve will remain connected to those points.

You could do the curves in smaller sections if you wish to keep them connected to the inbetween points, as well.

To have re-sizable curves, you need to use the ‘Curve with Points as Control Handle’, and use measurements and percentages in your formulas (no number values). This tool is only in v0.5.0.0.a, the test build.

Here is how my tshirt looks using points as control handles:

You appear to have only 2 curves, A11-A32,A32-A29, which are shown on the Aldrich text to be 4 curves A11-A16, A16-A32, A32-A40, A40-A29.

A16-A32 is supposed to pass through A35, A32-A40 is supposed to pass through A36,