First step for contributing to development

Hello,

Good news, I succeeded in setting up a build environment on MacOS (note : I did not succeed building with Qt 5.9, I had to switch back to Qt 5.8). :slight_smile: I saw here a list of suggestions for new contributors. Is it still up to date? Do you have a “dead simple” task I could try, knowing my C++ background is thin and old? BTW: as a UX designer, I would be more comfortable contributing on designing the UI, but I do not know whether it would make sense to you?

Bye, Yann

@ronanletiec wrote good instruction that describes his successful experience.

Should be easy:

As a starter, I’ll pick a wording issue.

I’m a bit puzzled regarding BitBucket/Mercurial usage in the project. At this point, I cloned the Valentina repository, and created a local named branch into it. Do you expect me to commit or push suggested changes on this branch?

Which? For start better use develop branch for all your commits.

Ok, so does the following sequence comply with your expectations?

1. Clone the develop branch:
  • hg clone https://bitbucket.org/dismine/valentina/ valentina-v0.5 -r develop
  1. Make a named working copy, dedicated to
  • hg clone valentina-develop valentina-renamingTools
  1. Launch Qt Creator
  2. Load project from valentina-renamingTools
  3. “Execute > Launch qmake”
  4. “Compile all”
  5. Make and save changes corresponding to a given Bitbucket issue,
  6. When changes are ok:
  7. Push changes from local working copy to local clone:
  • cd valentina-renamingTools
  • hg commit
  • hg push
  • cd ../valentina-v0.5
  • hg merge
  • hg push

:?

Not at all.

To make your life easier just clone the repo, update to develop branch and commit into it. Of course push/merge. Use TortoiseHG and make your life easier. You have two ways how to return code: attach a patch here or send via pull requests.

Currently stuck in TortoiseHg, I cannot push a change I committed on my local clone. Here is what I get in the log: