Duplicating groups

Hi there,

I am quite new to Seamly. I have made a front trouser draft for my right leg, have grouped it, and was wondering if there is a way of duplicating it and flipping it, and removing some details for the left leg. I see a ‘flip’ tool in operations, but I am not clear whether that does what I am looking for - perhaps because I am confused on the difference between an object and a group. Anyway, any help much appreciated!

Thank you, Olivia

2 Likes

Hello @OliviaVF

You may use the Flip tool. Just select the items you wish to mirror, select the node where you want the flip to happen & press Enter. The mirrored nodes will have ‘a1’ added to the original node label and they won’t be in the group that you have created, so you will be able to place them in their own group, if you wish.

You will need to choose the items, that you want mirrored, very carefully because you won’t be able to edit or delete them later without deleting the whole Flip operation. You will be able to add new nodes and curves to those nodes, though.

Personally, in this case, I prefer to draw my back grid separately:

or draw over the front for the back:

1 Like

Thanks so much!! Yes, I think I will draw the back separately, but this works for the front. :grinning:

1 Like

Maybe I can help clarify…

If you use the “Group” tool to add objects (any point or curve is considered an object), this creates a “visibilty” group, where you can show/hide a group from displaying in a draft block. In a sense it analogous to putting objects on a certain layer that can be turned on or off.

When using the Mirror / Rotate / Move operation tools you again select objects to add to a “source group” , and based on the attribute settings for that tool , a resulting “destination group” will be created.

That’s why I prefer to refer to group items, source items, or destination items, and it’s clearer what “group” one is referring to.