Do you manage to work professionally in seamly2d?

Is it possible to do proper freelancing with seamly 2d?

1 Like

What do you mean by ‘proper freelancing’?

I guess it all depends on how dynamic you are. There are people making & selling sewing patterns, people making custom (bespoke) clothing on here. Some do this full time & some only part time.

Some people have proper tailoring shops and some sell fabric on the internet & make patterns to accompany the fabric.

For myself, I’m a bookkeeper. I make & sell patterns part time, but not on the internet. I also use Seamly to make patterns for clothing that I may have an order for or for family. And then I help others to get their patterns laid out nicely to sell.

So, I guess, it’s up to you to decide what it is that you wish to do and to set up accordingly with advertising on social media, etc., build your name & see where it takes you :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply.

I meant ‘proper freelancing’ as full time. Bad phrasing I guess. :grinning:

I am new to this, but I would like to get to know the software more, and the people who are working on and with it.

I am making patterns too, and know a few pattern makers, but none of them work in this program.

Thank you for sharing your experience about seamly2d and for the suggestions. :blush:

1 Like

I have been a pattern maker theatrical tailor for 35 years, I draft on paper, because for me it is quicker and more intuitive, as I can make changes quickly and I am making custom one off pieces.

I am not sure yet whether Seamly will be something I can use professionally, but it has certainly been an interesting thing to learn.

2 Likes

I don’t, but speaking as a consultant, what I’ve heard industry insiders profess is that if you are in charge of every phase of the production process, then you could certainly use Seamly professionally. But if you are just a freelance cog in a fashion design house you probably have to use Adobe.