Critical Error when opening a pattern file

I am a total beginner with the software, and have been practicing drafting basic bodice blocks. I saved a front bodice pattern, and when I tried to re-open it, it won’t let me due to a critical error:

Here is the pattern file: nina_front_bodice_2.val (4.3 KB)

I haven’t gotten very far, the file only contains some guidelines so far. Yesterday I finished the front bodice pattern, and encountered the same critical error when I went to open it today. So I re-started it, and when I tried to open it later on in the afternoon, the same error window popped up.

How do I fix this issue? And avoid running into it again in the future when I am working on more complex and time-consuming patterns?

Thank you!

2 Likes

Hmmm… taking a quick look at the xml file - looks like the “draw” elements are in an incorrect order. There are certain elements of a pattern that are expected to come before the < draw > tag… thus the error saying “draw” not defined in this scope.

I have ask, but by chance did you manually edit the file? If not I will have to try and figure out why the file got written incorrectly.

I’ll take a closer look later when I can try and open the pattern on my machine. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi Douglas, thank you for the reply.

I have not manually edited the file at all.

I am a complete novice to Seamly, so I am following some simple tutorials and the manual to draft a basic bodice front to practice.

I am not sure how I could have “drawn” out of order, since I just put down some simple guidelines. I would love to find out where I have gone wrong to avoid to the same mistake.

Thank you so much for your time/help.

Nina

2 Likes

Well… here’s the fixed pattern file… have no clue how the app would write the file out of order. I tried to reproduce the error, but can’t.

nina_front_bodice_2_fixed.val (4.3 KB)