Body block generation based on body measurements

Hi all, I’m new to seamly and actually I was searching for software that would translate my measurements into basic body blocks. I’m currently learning pattern drafting from a pro and I use the Books of Aldrich, but I find those methods very primitive and based on far too few body measurements and too many guidelines that often “fit” but and then require alterations afterwards.

I’m looking for first time right pattern drafting and that is theoretically possible. With all the measurements that I input in seamly 2D, it should be able to reproduce my body in 3D and produce tight fitting body blocks ready for me to built upon when I start designing tailored clothes.

Is this the ultimate ambition of Seamly2D? Does anybody know about open source or affordable software that does this properly (as in using as many body measurements as possible instead of only the default set)

2 Likes

Hello & welcome to Seamly!

Yes, if I don’t misunderstand you, that is the goal of the Seamly project. I have personally used it to produce an uncomfortably form-fitting pull-over shirt of quilting cotton. The only adjustment I needed to make was fixing the neck hole to be big enough for more than just my neck, (oops!) That’s with very little pattern drafting experience, but a coat-hangar physique. I did not use an established system, just what I’ve picked up from here & there.

If you know a programmer familiar with Blender’s back end, & interested in a project, I’m confident that @slspencer would be grateful for the referral. Meanwhile some people have managed to get patterns exported to Blender, I don’t know if any of them are active these days.

I hope that answers your question, if not, say the word; someone else will be by who may understand your needs better.

:unicorn:

2 Likes