Bespoke men's pattern cutting

Hello everyone!

I have learned to draft patterns with Seamly2d and have got the hang of it now but I’m looking to get a better understanding of pattern cutting, particularly combining this with the power of Seamly2d.

Are there any good resources for bespoke menswear pattern cutting?

I have patternmaking for fashion design by Helen Joseph Armstrong and pattern cutting for menswear by Gareth Kershaw. Both of these are great and have given me a good understanding of the pattern making process but I feel like there must be resources better for bespoke tailoring.

I have drafted the basic body block in Seamly2d from Kershaw’s book and tried to change some of constants used in the system to be proportional to another measurement to make them more scalable. I feel like Seamly2d has the power to make patterns accurate across a greater range of body shapes than using what seems to be rules of thumb from the books. I’m an engineer by day and I’ve done this with my own judgement and limited understanding of pattern cutting but would like to know if there are better resources out there.

Thanks!

Christopher

3 Likes

Hello Christopher, welcome aboard!

Unfortunately I can’t answer your question,

There is a general list of resources on the wiki, but little hint as to which are better (yet. Maybe you can begin the process. Possibly as sub-pages?)

I don’t think Kershaw has even made it to the list yet.

Hopefully the next poster to come along has a better answer, but I wanted to be sure you got a speedy welcome!

:unicorn:

2 Likes