App iPad Pro

This message is for developers. I have questions for you? today on Seamly2D. Would it be possible for the developers of this fabulous software, to develop an ipad pro application. Is it complicated to do? This is a serious question for me since I started using the software, because as a professional, I have not seen pattern drafter fashion CAO on the Apple Store, and I who moves a lot with customers and who is independent, I would be a plus. I would like to know if there are pros in the community who would be interested. I hope you will answer me Thank you in advance.

3 Likes

Because the Seamly2D code was developed using c++ and Qt (to provide cross platform support) it is absolutely possible. I do not wish to let this statement give a false sense of optimism. While Qt is intended to provide compatibility across platforms, there will undoubtedly be platform specific bugs. The effort to create a release for IPad is not trivial.

Someone would have to commit to creating the new build procedures for the IPad Pro, including finding a c++ compiler that was compatible with the developer’s build environment. Someone would have to commit to testing the application on the IPad platform.

@slspencer, do you have any comment?

2 Likes

I would love for an IPad version of the software. We request our users to recruit programmers to work on Seamly2D but we don’t get much response. So we want this but it isn’t happening.

1 Like

Depending on your setup, you may be able to “cheat” by using a Screen-share App.

2 Likes

It also may be worth the effort to build and test just the seamlyme measurement app on the ipad. this would be less effort than making sure the full pattern design app worked in that environment and definitely useful on its own. The same applies to android app because there are android tablets (and phones) where it would be really useful to have the measurement app. Wearing my developer hat I am interested in looking into this. Anyone else???